Go Back   kirupaForum > Talk > Random

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2009, 12:25 PM   #1
senocular
If you can read this, I'm
 
senocular's Avatar
Location San Francisco, CA (USA)

Posts 17,266
Boned: "Removal from Google's Index‏" email

So I got this email from google today:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Removal from Google's Index email
Dear site owner or webmaster of senocular.com,

While we were indexing your webpages, we detected that some of your pages were using techniques that are outside our quality guidelines, which can be found here: http://www.google.com/support/webmas...er=35769&hl=en. This appears to be because your site has been modified by a third party. Typically, the offending party gains access to an insecure directory that has open permissions. Many times, they will upload files or modify existing ones, which then show up as spam in our index.

We detected cloaking on your site and suspect this is the cause. For example at http://www.senocular.com/?id=2.82 we found:

Tetrisbuy adobe photoshopbuy cheap adobe photoshopbuy adobe photoshop online

... bla bla bla ...
I checked http://www.senocular.com/?id=2.82. There was nothing there. Then I googled photoshopbuy site:senocular.com. My site does appear, but none of those pages contain the text either. However, if I check the cache I get this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Google cache
This is Google's cache of http://www.senocular.com/about.php. It is a snapshot of the page as it appeared on Oct 26, 2009 09:25:38 GMT. The current page could have changed in the meantime. Learn more

These search terms are highlighted: senocular com These terms only appear in links pointing to this page: photoshopbuy
Whatup? I can't control that? Am I boned because some spammer moron can't get his links right? ...or is this maybe a way to add page rank to a page by linking to other, legitimate resources?

__________________
senocular is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links (Guests Only) - Register | Need Help?
 

Old 11-03-2009, 12:49 PM   #2
glosrfc
Registered User
 
glosrfc's Avatar
Location Halley Research Station, Latitude 75°35' S, Longitude 26°39' W, Brunt Ice Shelf, Coats Land, Antarctica

Posts 4,154
Check the Google cache page for http://www.senocular.com/?id=2.82

Cached version

Then check the Text Only Version in the Google header

Text Only Cache

You'll see that the cloaking text is there, along with the link that's intercepting your page hits.

__________________
©2006 GlosRFC - Searching 8,168,684,336 brain cells
glosrfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 01:18 PM   #3
glosrfc
Registered User
 
glosrfc's Avatar
Location Halley Research Station, Latitude 75°35' S, Longitude 26°39' W, Brunt Ice Shelf, Coats Land, Antarctica

Posts 4,154
How it works...and how to detect click-through cloaking:
ftp://ftp.research.microsoft.com/pub/tr/TR-2006-178.pdf

There are things you can do to get round it:
1. Make sure that you don't have a trojan on your PC which is uploading cloaking software to your server
2. Look for suspicious files on your server, particularly redirection scripts
3. Follow the guidelines here http://www.seobook.com/wordpress-blog-hacking-checklist
4. Delete all the files from your server and upload them again

__________________
©2006 GlosRFC - Searching 8,168,684,336 brain cells
glosrfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 01:40 PM   #4
senocular
If you can read this, I'm
 
senocular's Avatar
Location San Francisco, CA (USA)

Posts 17,266
veird. Thanks! I'll look into that




... ok, I'll have to admit; this one is new to me. And I just happened to walk around all the other signs that pointed to this before posting here. Thanks for setting me straight glosrfc.

__________________
senocular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 01:55 PM   #5
glosrfc
Registered User
 
glosrfc's Avatar
Location Halley Research Station, Latitude 75°35' S, Longitude 26°39' W, Brunt Ice Shelf, Coats Land, Antarctica

Posts 4,154
Incidentally, these are the four rogue links:
creditsoft.net - based in Omaha, US - but registered in Queensland, Aus
hfai.net - Minsk, Belarus - but registered in Queensland, Aus
gbah.net - Minsk, Belarus - but registered in Queensland, Aus
bskin.net - 78.159.96.208 - Frankfurt, Germany - but registered in Zypka, Uzbekistan

Which gives you option 5. Contacting their respective ISPs although I wouldn't hold out a great deal of hope there.

__________________
©2006 GlosRFC - Searching 8,168,684,336 brain cells
glosrfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28 AM.

SUPPORTERS:

kirupa.com's fast and reliable hosting provided by Media Temple. flash components
Creative web apps. Make your own free flash banners and photo slideshows.
Check out the great, high-quality flash extensions. Buy or sell stock flash, video, audio and fonts for as little as 50 cents at FlashDen.

Flash Transition Effects

Flash Effect Tutorials

Digicrafts Components
Flash effects. Art without coding. Upload, publish, deliver. Secure hosting for your professional or academic video, presentations & more. Screencast.com
Streamsolutions Content Delivery Networks Flipping Book - page flip flash component.
Flash-Gallery.com - Get your flash photo gallery (flash component or swf gallery Learn how to advertise on kirupa.com
 

cdn
content delivery network (cdn)

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Copyright 2010 - kirupa.com Copyright 2010 - kirupa.com