The forums have permanently moved to forum.kirupa.com. This forum will be kept around in read-only mode for archival purposes. To learn how to continue using your existing account on the new forums, check out this thread.

Thread: Flash CS3 AS3 UILoader fade in question

Flash CS3 AS3 UILoader fade in question

Hey Guys,
    I REALLY need some help. I'm quite new to AS3 and am trying to write a script that will change the alpha of my UILoader instance (instance name: newsBG_mc) from 0 to 1 (100) once it has loaded in fully. My code doesn't work and I was wondering if anyone can take a look and give me some advice. Thanks for reading...

_________

newsBG_mc.scaleContent = true;

newsBG_mc.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, completeHandler);

function completeHandler(event:Event):void {

newsBG_mc.alpha = newsBG_mc.alpha +0.05;

if (newsBG_mc.alpha >= 1) {
    newsBG_mc.alpha = 1;
    newsBG_mc.removeEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, completeHandler);
    }

}

Just ask if you want me to explain the code better:
    Code:
    newsBG_mc.scaleContent = true;

//This event is dispatched ONCE and only ONCE when the newsBG is done loading
    newsBG_mc.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, completeHandler);

function completeHandler(event:Event):void 
    {
       //Removing the old listener might be a good idea
       newsBG_mc.removeEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, completeHandler);

//Now it is done loading, so listen for ENTER_FRAME events until the alpha has become 1
       newsBG_mc.alpha = 0;
       this.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, fadeIn);
    }

function fadeIn(event:Event):void
    {
       newsBG_mc.alpha = newsBG_mc.alpha +0.05;

if (newsBG_mc.alpha >= 1) {
          newsBG_mc.alpha = 1;
          this.removeEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, fadeIn);
       }

}
    Blog article of the month: Why My One Line 'if' Statements Are Unusual
    Twitter: @IQAndreas
    GitHub: IQAndreas