Everybody! This is important. In a few days, these forums will be moving over to using the totally sweet Discourse platform. To ensure this migration happens smoothly with no loss of content, these forums are currently in a read-only mode. I do apologize for the inconvenience.

There is never a good time to turn the forums off for an extended period of time, but I promise the new forums will be a billion times better. I'm pretty sure of it.

See you all on the other side in a few days, and if you have any (non-technical) questions, please e-mail me at kirupa@kirupa.com. For technical questions, try to find a tutorial that corresponds to what you are looking for and post in the comments section of that page.

Cheers,
Kirupa

Thread: Tick checkbox if database field contains value

Tick checkbox if database field contains value

Hi Guys,

I have used a bit of PHP but I'm not very good at it!

I was hoping someone could help with my problem.

I have a table with several checkboxes.
    The user can select the boxes, the values are made into a comma separated string and added to a DB field.
    I want the checkboxes that have been previously checked (the field contents) to be checked when the user revisits that page.

So it's something like.

if($field CONTAINS $checkBoxValue){
    checkbox = checked
    }

I am having trouble thinking of a way of implementing this.

Here is my form code:

HTML Code:
    <form method=post action=''>

<table width="100">
        <tr>
        <td width="60">Identity</td>
        <td width="40"><input type="checkbox" <?php echo $checked; ?> name=fields[] value='Identity'></td>
        </tr>

<tr>
        <td width="60">Stationery</td>
        <td width="40"><input type="checkbox" <?php echo $checked; ?> name=fields[] value='Stationery'></td>
        </tr>

<tr>
        <td width="60">Print</td>
        <td width="40"><input type="checkbox" <?php echo $checked; ?> name=fields[] value='Print'></td>
        </tr>

<tr>