Thread: expressions blend questions

expressions blend questions

I just started playing with Blend and had a couple of questions. I have a stack panel with 2 grids inside of it. I have animated the top grid to shrink vertically. I was hoping that when it shrank the grid beneath it would slide up but it's not doing that. Is there a trick to get something like this to work? Essentially the top grid animates to a height of 0 so the 2nd grid should slide up and take it's place.

2nd, is there a way to save an animation to reuse over and over? So if I want to reuse this shrinking animation on a number of grids I can do that without having to create an animation for each one separately? Thanks.

Hi cakewalkr7!
    For your first question, the reason is that when animating, the height of an element is not what gets changed by default when you use the adorners. A RenderTransform with ScaleY changes instead.

What you want to do is set the actual Height property to 0 on the properties inspector at a given keyframe. That should give you the effect that you want. Here is a small XAML snippet that allows you to do that:

Code:
    	<Window.Resources>
    		<Storyboard x:Key="Storyboard1">
    			<DoubleAnimationUsingKeyFrames BeginTime="00:00:00" Storyboard.TargetName="grid" Storyboard.TargetProperty="(FrameworkElement.Height)">
    				<SplineDoubleKeyFrame KeyTime="00:00:00.5000000" Value="0"/>
    			</DoubleAnimationUsingKeyFrames>
    		</Storyboard>
    	</Window.Resources>
    	<Window.Triggers>
    		<EventTrigger RoutedEvent="FrameworkElement.Loaded">
    			<BeginStoryboard Storyboard="{StaticResource Storyboard1}"/>
    		</EventTrigger>
    	</Window.Triggers>

<Grid x:Name="LayoutRoot">
    		<StackPanel>
    			<Grid Height="100" Background="#FFF5FF00" x:Name="grid"/>
    			<Grid Height="100" Background="#FF00B3FF"/>
    		</StackPanel>
    	</Grid>