Everybody! This is important. In a few days, these forums will be moving over to using the totally sweet Discourse platform. To ensure this migration happens smoothly with no loss of content, these forums are currently in a read-only mode. I do apologize for the inconvenience.

There is never a good time to turn the forums off for an extended period of time, but I promise the new forums will be a billion times better. I'm pretty sure of it.

See you all on the other side in a few days, and if you have any (non-technical) questions, please e-mail me at kirupa@kirupa.com. For technical questions, try to find a tutorial that corresponds to what you are looking for and post in the comments section of that page.

Cheers,
Kirupa

Thread: A challenge for passionate AI programmers

Pallete A challenge for passionate AI programmers

Hi all, I have a challenge that is puzzling me. Maybe it's not that hard, but I'm new to AI programming, so...

I have to develop an AI for a game of my own, a turn-based puzzle game. It's something chess-like, as it needs a CPU opponent to think ahead of what the player will be doing the next turn to be effective. The challenge is that the game board is divided into areas that rotate, so the AI has to make a hard guess for the gaming world can change after every move. The game is a multiplayer 1 vs 1 now, and I need help to make the AI for the single-player.

WHAT I NEED IS NOT PROGRAMMING. I will do that.

I need some AI expert which wants to step up and help me in solving this challenge with the theory and the basis for this AI. I won't pay him because I can't now, although the game has great plans and anyone involved will be rewarded in some way.
    The game is currently made in Flash but we want to port it to the iPhone or DS (hopefully). Credit is of course guaranteed, I will make clear who made the AI anywhere on the site and the product if it ships for the intended platform.