Everybody! This is important. In a few days, these forums will be moving over to using the totally sweet Discourse platform. To ensure this migration happens smoothly with no loss of content, these forums are currently in a read-only mode. I do apologize for the inconvenience.

There is never a good time to turn the forums off for an extended period of time, but I promise the new forums will be a billion times better. I'm pretty sure of it.

See you all on the other side in a few days, and if you have any (non-technical) questions, please e-mail me at kirupa@kirupa.com. For technical questions, try to find a tutorial that corresponds to what you are looking for and post in the comments section of that page.

Cheers,
Kirupa

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please tell me how to make a highscore list?

Please tell me how to make a highscore list?

Well, i need to make a highscore list, but i need to make it using textfiles! but since i am very new at programming i cant figure out how to sort the the list...i want to sort the list within flash, but how do i make it so that the names and the scores get sorted together? currently i am thinking of somehow using sortOn on the array generated using "split"....but since the information resides on a external text file, therefore this method might be very slow in practice, and especially when my target viewers are dial-up users. So what do you guys suggest?
    MY BLOG

I need a SPRITER who can do pixel arts for an arcade fighter project. If you can help out, please pm me.
    I also need someone who can write simple xml files.

2. Quote Originally Posted by bluemagica View Post