Thread: Flex vs. Flash CS3

Flex vs. Flash CS3

what's the difference between using Flex or Flash CS3 to develop AS3 projects?

Flex is for application development and Flash more-so for website development and other related things. I used the Flex SDK compiler (fsch) to compile my AS3-only projects, that don't use a FLA or something built using the Flex interface. So it really depends on what you're trying to build.

I have been developing with Flex for 2 years now. I used to separate the two into the same categories that McGuffin stated, but since CS3 came out, that line has been blurred. I really think that Flash CS3 can really complement Flex for alot of the "design" issues that Flex has a hard time doing. Custom button skins, animated assets, etc.

Flex is basically a huge (file size-wise) framework that sits on top of your basic Flash framework. It takes care of a lot of layout issues for you regarding your GUI and it also has a more robust system setup for using remoting, web services, etc. The really neat feature about Flex is that even if you are not making a full scale website/application, you can use it for quick and dirty prototypes. So no more disposable assets. It really shines for use in its {binding} mechanism where you the developer basically says, notify this when that changes without manually hard coding all the event listeners. It takes much of the manual labor out of the unglorious aspects of dev'ing leaving you more time to polish off your application.

I still dev in Flash. You need to make a game? Flash. You need to make an animated ad, Flash. You want something that is super small in file size, Flash.

They are both tools. You just have to pick the right one for the job.
    email: jwopitz (at) gmail (dot) com
    blogs: http://jwopitz.wordpress.com
    check out the as3isolib

thanks! i have been wanting to learn AS3 for a long time now, i was just so confused on what to use..