The forums have permanently moved to forum.kirupa.com. This forum will be kept around in read-only mode for archival purposes. To learn how to continue using your existing account on the new forums, check out this thread.

Thread: Swap Id?

Swap Id?

Hi. I'm new to mySQL and I'm trying to make two rows in a table swap ids (ultimately swapping positions). I'm not sure how to go about it and haven't found anything on it yet. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

-Tom

i don't really know if there's a super clean way. for the time being, i know this will work:
    Code:
    /* assumes you started your ID column at 1, not 0 */
    SET @tmp_id	= 0;

/* first ID you want to swap */
    SET @first_id	= 2;

/* second ID to swap */
    SET @second_id	= 3;

/* set first ID to 0 */
    UPDATE	tblName
    SET	idColName = @tmp_id
    WHERE	idColName = @first_id;

/* set second ID to first ID */
    UPDATE	tblName
    SET	idColName = @first_id
    WHERE	idColName = @second_id;

/* set first ID to second ID */
    UPDATE	tblName
    SET	idColName = @second_id
    WHERE	idColName = @tmp_id;
    why would you want to do this? i mean, the ID field isn't really for order. it's just a unique identifier for a row of data.

I'm working on a content management system where you can rearrange the order of individual entries in a list. I don't mean asc, desc, but moving individual entries up and down.

if you're changing the order, you should just have an order column. you should never be changing the ID. the purpose of having the ID is to use it as a foreign key in other tables. if you start changing the ID in the primary table, your relationships will break down.

Thank you, how does one order a column? I hadn't seen that function in the tutorials I've taken. Thanks a lot!

basically just add a column. i would recommend naming it something like `rowOrder` and give it a datatype of INT, with UNIQUE on. that way, your order values will always be unique.