The forums have permanently moved to forum.kirupa.com. This forum will be kept around in read-only mode for archival purposes. To learn how to continue using your existing account on the new forums, check out this thread.

Thread: use XML or not?

use XML or not?

I have in ASP script that generates a press release archive, which links to the full press release content on the web. Archive's information is all saved in an XML file.

Later, I want to develop a script that will let anyone,through a web form, to add press releases, rather than me constantly having to code each press release.

I know it's possible to write to XML files externally, but I would like to get people's opinion who has more experience with web development, if my approach to creating this entire archive is okay, or should I use an actual database to handle this kind of work.

I'm a designer, which is why my knowledge of web development is limited.

Quote Originally Posted by bwh2 View Post
    a DB is the better option in my opinion. but XML would still work.
    may ask what makes a DB better, in your opinion?

a DB's structure is more flexible going forward. in short...

data is more accessible in a DB because querying a database is easier (and faster) than parsing an XML file. let's say you want to know how many press releases user X has added. with a DB, that's one query and would take 2 seconds. but with XML, you need to parse it and then hard code your counter in a separate language. querying a DB is just faster and easier, making the data more accessible.

DB's are also more flexible in terms of adding or removing content. in a DB, you could just insert a column and/or separate tables. with an XML file, you would need to rewrite the entire file to account for the newly added tag.