The forums have permanently moved to forum.kirupa.com. This forum will be kept around in read-only mode for archival purposes. To learn how to continue using your existing account on the new forums, check out this thread.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: database beginner question

database beginner question

I've searched and could not find what I was looking for.
    I have NO database experience but need to learn quick

I have an html page with an iFrame (flash menu on left - iFrame on right)
    When I click a product image on the left this is what I need to happen.
    - Flash send a variable
    - The iFrame to load an HTML page that will populate with an image, 2 text fields, and 3 hyperlinks dependant on what product is clicked in the flash.

I am using access since it is what i have at work, and i can just add all the products in a table pretty quickly and easitly. I set up a table in access with the image, hyperlinks, and text that needs to populate in the html page. The HTML page is set up in tables if that makes a difference...

I just don't know where to go from here to make my connections and how to set it up.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Access is detah on a stick.
    Member #2 of the "I wont critique Timmytot's designs anymore" club.

does anyone have anything already written that works like this that I could learn from? I'm kind of lost right now, and I need a little bit of direction. Or atleast some links that will explain how to do this, from a beginners stand point.

Why does what you are looking to achieve require you to used a DB ?

From your intial post it seems to me like your just looking to include a file of some sort.

Well, I don't neccessarily need to use a database to do what I want, for now atleast. But, in the near future they are going to want a store and shopping cart set up. And everything has to be easily updatable... I am definetly open to suggestions though.