The forums have permanently moved to forum.kirupa.com. This forum will be kept around in read-only mode for archival purposes. To learn how to continue using your existing account on the new forums, check out this thread.

Thread: many similar pages, css or template ?

many similar pages, css or template ?

i am building a site with many categories and the navigation/main section will stay the same but I don't want to edit each and every page when I add a new button to the section. Do you recommend CSS or should I just create a template in dreamweaver 2004 ?

You'll certainly want to use CSS, but that wont help you with the navigation because they still need HTML on each page.

Do you have php on your server/can you install it?

yes i have php why ? i'm not that good at php or any programming for that matter

home cooking is killing the restaurant industry
    well.. to include another file in a PHP file, you can just do this:

PHP Code:
    <?php include ("nav.php"); ?>
    That would include the file nav.php in the file, and whenever nav.php was changed the content would change as well

You could also use SSI (server side includes), but PHP is perfect for that kind of task.
    There are only 10 kinds of people in this world:
    Those that might know ternary, those that do, and those that don't
    Say NO to DRM.

I'd do it in a DW template with CSS (no php). I wouldnt use PHP because, A) you dont know it that well. Though I would suggest learning it, I dont know if this is the best place to (include alone might not cut it depeding on file placement and references). And B) because in a template, you arent going to be able to visually see your php when editing in design view which isnt going to help you any when developing page content (in design view).