The forums have permanently moved to forum.kirupa.com. This forum will be kept around in read-only mode for archival purposes. To learn how to continue using your existing account on the new forums, check out this thread.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Isometric - Too ambitious?

Isometric - Too ambitious?

Hey everyone, first off I'd like to welcome myself to these forums, they look very spangly.

I used to be here, before they got moved, under a different name, probably Pez, or PezDemon... I can't remember!

Ok, here's my problem...

I am a pixel artist, and I want to create my new website in flash, with a pixel theme to it... Basically, there will be a little pixel person in an isometric room, and when a user hovers over an object in the room, a description will appear in a pop-up (already found that tutorial on this site- thanks! ) - but then when they click it, I want the little person to walk over to the object... and then the link to carry on... go to a new page etc.

I have absolutly no idea how to do this, I am a complete beginner, so please be clear, or link to sites that arent written in uber g33k speak.

Thanks for your time, I will be sure to stick around and get posting!

PS. I have attatched my latest piece of pixel work so you can get idea of scale etc.

PPS. These smilies are cool! <-- ninja!!

if you're a 'complete beginner', then it might be a little ambitious. I have a simple key controlled iso example here
    http://www.umbc.edu/interactive/fla/isometric.swf
    http://www.umbc.edu/interactive/fla/isometric.fla
    but thats not including path finding...
    ahmed's example does here (between 2 points in an open grid):
    http://www.kirupaforum.com/showthrea...r=15#post82974
    Still... if you are getting it done, chances are you arent writing it yourself, and youd be using other pre-written code. Im sure theres more complete examples around which you can assimilate into your own work. You'll just have to search for them.