The forums have permanently moved to forum.kirupa.com. This forum will be kept around in read-only mode for archival purposes. To learn how to continue using your existing account on the new forums, check out this thread.

Thread: 2D Side view shooter - Where can I find a good tutorial to get started?

Hybrid View

2D Side view shooter - Where can I find a good tutorial to get started?

I'm planning on doing a 2D side view shooter (metal slug style) in Flash but I honestly don't know where to start.
    Does anyone know where I can get some good tutorials to start off?
    Thanks in advance.

I have Flash MX 2004 Pro btw...

I can help! My AIM is freakazoid642! How good are you at AS? Do you want an example? Here:

Hmm, I don't have AIM...
    Well, I'm kind of new to AS, I just know the basic stuff to create some flash cartoon movies but I learn fast, that's why I want a tutorial.
    Thanks anyway.

Ok...
    I'll probably whip up a (Flash) tutorial. In the meantime, I would check out www.flashkit.com for game tuts. (No offense kirupa )

I've been looking around and found some useful things.
    I know how to make a character go left, right, up and down but how can I make a character change the image when I go left or right? To simplifie: When character is NOT moving then animation "standing.png" and when character is moving then this animation "waling.png". How can I do this?
    Thanks in advance.

Your using "LoadMovie"? Dont. Use gotoAndStop with movie clips inside movie clips. Liek theres a mainchar movie clip, and on frame 1 theres stop(); and then on frame 2, theres the walkin anim and so on. then u cud say
    if (Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT)){
    this._xscale = 100;
    this.gotoAndStop(2);
    }else {
    this.gotoAndStop(1);
    }

Got it to work, thanks!

Your welcome! Need any more help? Like shooting?

I'll need help on shooting but I'll leave that for later. If I need anything I'll post
    Thanks again!