PDA

View Full Version : Content Theif



Butters
November 6th, 2004, 06:29 PM
Ok, im really angry.

This site : http://south-park.h12.ru has stolen pages of mine ( http://www.thekrazykennyshow.net ) and another site's content (I know the webmaster of the other site, http://www.awesomo.net), and is hotlinking files.

I'm really annoyed becuase all my content took hours to put together.

He won't reply to my e-mails, or on ICQ (not to me or the other webmaster).

What am I supposed to do, hes stealing all my content that took me ages to make.

:m:

999
November 6th, 2004, 07:23 PM
Seems to me if he's hotlinking files from you, you have a way of messing with the content on his site? Make some temporary changes to your content that will show up on his site but hide it on yours.

Butters
November 6th, 2004, 07:27 PM
No becuase hes just copying and pasteing all my content.

Hes hotlinking files tho, I might change the files that hes linking to and put new ones in for my site.

I dont think there is any way to stop him, he lives in like Russia or something, so im screwed. This sucks.

UNFLUX
November 6th, 2004, 07:34 PM
the best way to deal with something like this is contact their ISP directly. I believe teh h12.ru domain is a free host.

Butters
November 6th, 2004, 07:39 PM
Yea I was gonna do that, but their site is in Russian, I cant find an email

MTsoul
November 6th, 2004, 08:05 PM
Oh man that sucks. What a homosexual critter. Bastard.

I tried translating the free host page, but it came out as ?????.. I'll get a friend (Russian) to get ya the emails! :)

<3 South Park

morse
November 6th, 2004, 08:14 PM
Well you're stealing southpark's content.

Butters
November 6th, 2004, 08:31 PM
How?

GreenLantern
November 6th, 2004, 09:04 PM
Check this out....

http://south-park.h12.ru/contact.php?send

That's the guys contact page. He allows you to change the address to which you send the email to, so basically this is a free remailer. I could think of some things to do with that.....

.soulty
November 6th, 2004, 10:11 PM
moved this to the rip/copyright thread..

paradox244
November 7th, 2004, 02:55 AM
Hmmm theives complaining about other theives...ironic isn't it?

I wonder how long it takes to make an episode of southpark, I don't think that really compares to how long it takes to record it, convert to mpeg, and link to a torrent file.

Copyright infringement is just as illegal as theft of media/content...nevermind they are the same thing.

Digitalosophy
November 7th, 2004, 03:54 AM
Yea not for nothing butters but what your doing can't be legal unless you have consent from SP.

Butters
November 7th, 2004, 10:46 AM
But I dont steal their content, making a site about South Park isnt stealing their content if you make it all yourself. I don't record and encode it, I don't even live in America.

Im not going over to the official SP site and just copying chunks of content off it am I?

DDD
November 7th, 2004, 01:16 PM
I dont think what butters is doing is illegal. Alot of folks have fan sites of their fav shows, actor, singers, **** stars (lol). Long as he is not actually redistributing with intent to sell, I think he may be fine. But then again I am not a lawyer so everything behind this "." could be total BS. Anyway I would go all out and contact his host, contact the person....if he has a blog leave a lil message as well.

Butters
November 7th, 2004, 02:16 PM
What hes stolen off me was made by me, not 'stolen' from South Park/Comedy Central, I wrote it all myself (that also goes for most of the site, I made everything myself, except for some video files)

Heres what I have done so far:

- E-Mail'd and ICQ'ed the webmaster, no reply.

- Mailed the host, no reply, they dont seem to care.

Wooo, im screwed :m:

DDD
November 7th, 2004, 03:18 PM
if he is hot linking you are not screwed just changes files. But if he is copying and pasting then well yea..

Butters
November 7th, 2004, 05:07 PM
Yea he's doing both, im gonna edit the sound files hes hotlinking to and change the ones on my site.

eyezberg
November 7th, 2004, 05:23 PM
If you can use PHP (or ASP or...), you can check if the request for a file is coming from your site (allow) or somewhere else (deny)..

Butters
November 7th, 2004, 05:26 PM
How?

I have hotlink protection but it always screws up so I turned it off.

minimalistik
November 8th, 2004, 05:01 AM
I think at this point, Eye could point you with the PHP. You'll definitely have no luck with the webmaster because obviously he'll deny everything and the host is Russian so they wont really pay such attention. If you can't beat them via verbal communication than beat them with code communication.

urbanFox
November 8th, 2004, 07:49 AM
NEWBIE reply: Hi, I read your message this morning and came across this page. You might be able to use the some script from the following link to block specific IP addresses from your site. http://webxtractions.com/tutorials/error.php

Also, has some script for protecting your images which might be handy.

Hope this is of some use.

urbanFox.

JohnLBW
November 17th, 2004, 05:04 AM
I started looking at his site to find the content he is steeling...

Did you notice that at the bottom of the episode download page he has a link to your site - and everyone else site whose content he is using...

I dont think that he believes what he is doing is wrong... maybe he just wants to be part of a big southpark ring.

anyway back to the point...

have you tried contacting all of the other sites and making them aware of it..

If you all change your content - he has no site... - his visitors will stop and then he will have no reason to use your content....

To stop him copy and pasting your text.... put it all in flash - simple...

If you get really anoyed with him - send him some AVI footage from southpark to his mailbox

send each one 5 times to make sure he gets it....

then his mail box will fill up... oh and make sure that your email is written with good intent.... dont want him to think you are trying to anoyhim ;)

John

kidrock
December 6th, 2004, 02:02 AM
Just add a statement to ur pages he is hot linking as " this content belongs to..... and a copyright statement. What is more serious is that he is stealing ur bandwith. Since his is a free hosting u can get it deleted from his site by complaining to the service provider.

AndreasBlomquis
December 8th, 2004, 10:13 PM
Send an e-mail with the following text to him... hopefully it will help!

Или вы останавливаете скопировать мой текст или я впихну что-то вверх по вашему тучному ишаку.

dreeft
December 9th, 2004, 02:11 AM
I'd say you're stuck. Change the files he's linking and then move on. Unless you have ridiculously deep pockets, there's not much you're going to be able to do about it.

prstudio
December 9th, 2004, 04:25 PM
The video files on your website are what everyone is talking about in terms of stealing.

Having those is not legal.

Lunasol
December 17th, 2004, 07:00 PM
The video files on your website are what everyone is talking about in terms of stealing.

Having those is not legal. Well, if you really want to be picky: probably even just showing these cartoon characters/illustrations is infringement. The intent doesn't matter, there's copyrights on the design of the characters.

Just like, for instance, the Rolling Stones management orders fan-sites and fan-communities to remove the Stones tongue logo from their sites all the time if used without permission, even if the boards do nothing more than discuss the music, nothing illegal going on, nothing sold; they still want it gone completely, accompanied by threathening letters from lawyers (happened to a Dutch forum recently). Where you live doesn't matter.

chriskalani
December 17th, 2004, 07:27 PM
what an idiot... does he think he is cool or something?

j_polo9
December 24th, 2004, 01:24 AM
You could test out this site and after you copyright it sue the guy. Although you may want to read if it works for international copyrighting:

http://copysite.coffeecup.com/

DDD
December 24th, 2004, 01:31 AM
j_polo thanks for the link. That is a very interesting idea. ALthough i thought through the feds a copyright was only 35 bucks or something like that. Thats almost the cost of a trademark. Worth a look in to tho.

λ
December 24th, 2004, 07:32 AM
If you use apache, you can use mod_rewrite to direct the users of another site to a page of your choosing ;)

http://httpd.apache.org/docs-2.0/misc/rewriteguide.html