PDA

View Full Version : PHP mail() being regarded as spam?



level4designs
December 10th, 2006, 06:03 PM
X-Apparently-To:josh_levelfour@yahoo.com via 68.142.236.169; Sun, 10 Dec 2006 14:47:28 -0800X-YahooFilteredBulk:64.128.189.154

X-Originating-IP:[64.128.189.154]

Return-Path:anonymous@unix-39.bluetowerhosting.com

Authentication-Results:mta181.mail.re3.yahoo.com from=unix-39.bluetowerhosting.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)

Received:from 64.128.189.154 (EHLO unix-39.bluetowerhosting.com) (64.128.189.154) by mta181.mail.re3.yahoo.com with SMTP; Sun, 10 Dec 2006 14:47:28 -0800

Received:(qmail 10276 invoked by uid 48); 10 Dec 2006 18:44:21 -0500Date:10 Dec 2006 18:44:21 -0500Message-ID:20061210234421.10274.qmail@unix-39.bluetowerhosting.com

To:josh_levelfour@yahoo.comSubject:HTML Email

From:contact@unix-39.bluetowerhosting.com http://us.i1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/us/pim/el/abook_add_1.gifAdd to Address Book http://us.i1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/nt/ic/ut/bsc/txtmess12_1.gifAdd Mobile Alert

Reply-to:contact@unix-39.bluetowerhosting.com

X-Mailer:PHP4

X-Priority:3MIME-Version:1.0

Content-Type:multipart/alternative; boundary="==MIME_BOUNDRY_alt_main_message"

Content-Length:823

I am sending email from a webhost and these are the headers I receive in yahoo mail. Can someone direct me as to why this would be regarded as spam by their system... I don't know enough about php and the mail() or email systems to fix?

thanks in advance, sorry it's s messy...

Josh

Jeff Wheeler
December 10th, 2006, 06:10 PM
You probably used keywords that were caught by their spam filter. What's the contents of the message?

level4designs
December 10th, 2006, 07:17 PM
no, it's just an order confirmation page, but I do have one image at the top, with a full http: address to the image... woudl that cause it.

Seb Hughes
December 11th, 2006, 10:25 AM
You can change the headers. Also this line *might*

Return-Path:anonymous@unix-39.bluetowerhosting.com

As it has anonymous in it maybe. but thats just my opinion.

level4designs
December 11th, 2006, 02:42 PM
so what would the header be for this? I am currently changing headers, and can set this, but just not sure what to put in to make that change.

thanks

puppy
December 12th, 2006, 03:58 AM
maybe it's just someone else sending spam from same server

level4designs
December 12th, 2006, 09:46 AM
hmm... I checked teh IP agains teh spam list servers though and don't find anything... I'm not sure, I think it's being regarded as spam though, just not sure why at this point. basically I have a host on godaddy as well as another place, they are both not working when the emails go to a yahoo email account...

I have tried sending just basic text and html emails to both, neither worked. I tried to adjust all the header options I could, nothing worked. I guess maybe I should contact godaddy to see why thier hosted email is being bulk emailed?

any other ideas? thse are all great ones here.

josh

puppy
December 12th, 2006, 10:19 AM
better idea is to contact yahoo, because it is yahoo who classifies it as spam, so they should know why better.