PDA

View Full Version : is this a virus??



sameerzs
April 7th, 2005, 12:14 PM
I recently got broadband and initially it was alright now I think a virus has got in, when I try to access google, yahoo or any other popular site it says access denied and opens its own search site hotoffers.com and letgohome.com. It is so irritating man cannot access any sites I want to. I also had kazaa installed then now I've uninstalled it.

Has anybody come across this stupid thing, please help me out here man I don't understand what to do :(

Voetsjoeba
April 7th, 2005, 12:32 PM
Sounds like spy/mal/adware to me, a browser hijacker to be more specific. Get yourself a good anti-spy/mal/adware proggy, run it, clean it, and try again. The more antiware proggies you run, the more chance you have of successfully cleaning out your comp. Start off with Ad-Aware and Spybot Search and Destroy.

Seb Hughes
April 7th, 2005, 12:42 PM
Yep Search & destory is really good i have it

jerez_z
April 7th, 2005, 12:47 PM
you could also look at hosts file.

Goto c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc (on win xp) and find the file called hosts. It shouldn't have an extension. Open it up. There may be a list of sites in there. Delete all except for:

127.0.0.1 localhost

That might solve your problem.