View Full Version : Is this order form safe?
Soul
February 7th, 2003, 03:57 PM
Hi guys, I'm ordering from a theatre supplies website and I was just wondering before I submit my details if its safe, because I don't really know how to tell... Is there a way?
Lemme know asap please :beam:
- Soul :goatee:
RenaissanceGirl
February 7th, 2003, 04:29 PM
One way to tell is to look at the URL on your browser. If it says "https" instead of "http" you should be ok. Someone correct me on this if I am wrong.
Soul
February 7th, 2003, 04:35 PM
Nope, its http://
Wanna see the site?
http://www.thekjigroup.co.uk/lancelyn/html/sales_order.html
- Soul :goatee:
Jubba
February 7th, 2003, 04:41 PM
Its not a secure Form, so I wouldn't give any information that you wouldn't want given out... credit card numbers... address... ect...
Jubba
February 7th, 2003, 04:43 PM
and yes RenniGurl. You are right:
the secure ones have a
https://
Soul
February 7th, 2003, 04:44 PM
Damn, so you think I shouldn't. I really need something from the site :*(
- Soul :goatee:
Jubba
February 7th, 2003, 04:45 PM
I wouldn't. You can't find what you need anywhere else? What are you looking for?
telekinesis
February 7th, 2003, 04:45 PM
Send them an e-mail to see why they didn't use a secured page. . . .
Jubba
February 7th, 2003, 04:47 PM
I'm sure its because they don't know any better, and also because secured pages cost money to have.
Soul
February 7th, 2003, 04:49 PM
I am buying some breakaway bottles to use in a film I'm making. There a few places, but its the only one I can find in the UK!
How about if I get the email from the HTML and then send my order to the email directly, is that safer?
- Soul :goatee:
Jubba
February 7th, 2003, 04:50 PM
The secure pages must be hosted on a secure server:
here is a little more:
http://www.cict.co.uk/web_design/secure.htm
and my google search:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=cost+of+SSL+secure+connection
Jubba
February 7th, 2003, 04:51 PM
No. The e-mail could probably be hacked faster than the form page. If they have a phone number then call them.
Soul
February 7th, 2003, 05:05 PM
Well I really need to buy it so I'm going to have to use the form.
- Soul :goatee:
RenaissanceGirl
February 7th, 2003, 05:07 PM
Ok... just know that you could risk having your credit card stolen and completely charged up the ying yang. I hope these break away bottles are worth the risk! :P
Soul
February 7th, 2003, 05:10 PM
Its not my credit card, I'll take the risk :P Haha
I'm sure it'll be fine, thanks for your help everyone! :beam:
- Soul :goatee:
Jubba
February 7th, 2003, 05:11 PM
Call them:
http://www.thekjigroup.co.uk/html/contact_us_.html
And tell them that their server is not secure, and that you can not purchase anything from that form.
Soul
February 7th, 2003, 05:14 PM
Ahh, perhaps I'll do that. Think they'll let me order over the phone? It's 10pm here so I guess they'll be closed, probably over the weekend too. Hmmm
- Soul :goatee:
Jubba
February 7th, 2003, 05:16 PM
I wouldn't take the chance, and I would also let them know of their mistake so they don't cost anybody any money by accidently leaking their CCard information out...
Alex
February 7th, 2003, 09:25 PM
i would check into the site. and try to find out more information about it before using a credit card number or an address.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.